Bus Stop Blues

October 19, 2014

P1030898

In the wee hours of the morning on Saturday I was walking home from the bar and I walked by a middle-aged woman crying at the bus stop. I sat down and asked her what was wrong. She was hesitant to tell me about it at first and had a sort of a “it’s not worth it” attitude (which is to be expected, really), but the more I persisted the more she opened up.

She had quit her job recently (the nature of which was not specified, but it was clear she didn’t like it very much) and didn’t really have anything else lined up. I sat and talked with her for 10 or 15 minutes while she was waiting for her bus, she thought I was trying to pick her up but I assured her that I just wanted to help.

When her bus came we hugged and said goodbye, she said “thank you forever, I’m really happy that you waited with me.” She was scared and alone, and my presence didn’t offer her any sort of financial security, the likes of which it sounds like she’s in need, but the element of human interaction that I offered hopefully made a positive impact on her life in one way or another.

If you see somebody crying, stop and talk to them. Chances are they need you.

Leave a Reply

