Home is Calling

June 23, 2011

Those of you who follow my Facebook profile religiously enough will have noticed that I recently purchased plane tickets home. Return tickets, of course, being that I’m not quite finished living in Europe. My flight into Seattle is on November 16th, and the plan is to stick around there for Thanksgiving and things like that, then I head out to Hawaii to visit an old friend for a week or so (I’m glad she picked such a nice place to live… I wouldn’t be so inclined to visit if she lived in Nevada, for example) in early December, then Christmas and New Years in Seattle, then back to Belgrade January 12th. My plan after that is to immediately start looking for digs in Helsinki, so if all goes according to plan I won’t be in Belgrade much longer than a month or so beyond January.

This event coincides pretty closely with my one year anniversary of leaving Seattle, it’s interesting to look back on the things that have happened over the last year. Thoughts? It’s not as crazy as it sounded before I left. I really didn’t know what to expect, but it’s essentially just felt like an extended trip. I’m sure my propensity for weekend trips around Europe has added to that feeling somewhat, but all things considered, it seemed pretty normal the whole time. I watched winter come and go (and have been wishing that it never left), I’ve seen the flux of people in and out, the closing of stores and the opening of new stores, the difference in mentality based on the season; all in all, I’ve watched the city evolve during the little wedge of time that I’ve spent here.

I’m really looking forward to getting back to Seattle for a bit. It’ll be nice to see friends again and go to all the familiar places I like to spend time. It’ll also be good to get back on my bike for a bit (hopefully a habit I can keep up when I get to Helsinki too) and play the piano some. Paula has also talked about coming to visit, that would be rad for obvious reasons, but also because I’ve always wanted to have the chance to show somebody around Seattle for their first time; selfish, I know.

Anyhow, going to keep this concise and stop there, it should really only serve as a news update.

One Response to “Home is Calling”

  1. Jian Says:

    Brilliant to read that you are not dropping Europe next year. Tentatively planning a Baltic ride next year, hopefully spring (Tallinn-Riga-Vilnius), it’s not too far, less than 400 miles, 4 days ride + 2days in each city, a perfect extended week holiday! Remember where you read it first;)


Leave a Reply

